Edith Street 11

From Gawler History
Revision as of 12:15, 19 June 2020 by Tillera (talk | contribs) (Created page with "{{Place |Places category=Building |Street number=11 |Street name=Edith |Street suffix=Street |Town or Locality=Gawler East |Date approximate=No |Date approximate2=No }} '''DES...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Fast Facts
Place type: Building
Address: 11 Edith Street
Town or Locality: Gawler East


DESCRIPTION:

The elevated single-storey double-fronted villa has an asymmetrical façade with projecting gabled bay. Of dressed, tooled bluestone construction with face red brick quoins and dressings, the late-Victorian design includes fine detail. The hipped and gabled roofscape is finished with non-original corrugated steel and features overpainted face brick chimneys with corbelled caps. The façade features a convex curved verandah on timber posts with cast iron lave brackets and frieze and non-original timber balustrade. A wide entrance stair with rendered masonry piers and walls leads to the entrance which includes a panelled timber door. Window openings include timber-framed double-hung sashes, paired to the projecting front bay. The bay includes a paired window set surmounted by a moulded red brick pediment and gable vent in distinctive Gawler style with the barge finished by a turned timber finial and cast iron lace trim. The frontage is defined by a non-original timber picket fence. Alterations include timber-framed awnings to windows, rear additions and sheds and a rendered finish to the west side elevation.

STATEMENT OF HERITAGE VALUE:

The villa at 11 Edith Street, Gawler East, was likely constructed in the early 1880s by blacksmith Henry Crump. As such, its demonstrates the late-nineteenth-century uptake of the Gawler East subdivision from 1873 for quality residential development. It is a fine and largely externally intact example of a dwelling of its scale and era, with distinctive Gawlerstyle composition, detailing and mouldings, finely detailed stonework, brick dressings and iron embellishment.

BRIEF HISTORICAL BACKGROUND:

Section 4 of the Gawler Special Survey was originally granted to John Reid and Henry Dundas Murray in October 1839. The subdivision of this land, part of Section No.4, Hundred of Nuriootpa, appears to have been surveyed and subdivided prior to 1 863 but was not offered for sale until March 1873. The earliest recording of the land within rate books indicates ownership by William Tardif, an English carpenter, who arrived in South Australia in 1854 aboard the ship 'Pestonjee Bomanjee' with his wife Mary (nee Le Sauvage). Tardif went on to become a partner in prominent Gawler building company 'Deland and Tardif' who were responsible for a number of public buildings, including the Gawler Institute and the former Bank of Adelaide.

The earliest Certificate of Title shows the original allotment to include the portion currently of 2 Short Street. The rate books indicate that there was no dwelling on the site until after 1882, when it was transferred from Edward Potter to Caroline Wilhelmina Crump, wife of Henry Crump, blacksmith. A house is recorded in the rate books from 1885. It remained in the Crump family until 1897 when it was subdivided from the adjacent Short Street portion of land and transferred to Sarah Ann Mather, wife of engineer Henry James Mather. The property includes a private road to the rear, accessed from Blanch street.

Please <click here> to view photos of 11 Edith Street.




References

Edith Street 11
Edith Street 11


Memories of Edith Street 11

Do you remember Edith Street 11 ? Then Join up and add your memory here.

Support our sponsors!